Tuesday, 22 Sep 2020

Jeremy Corbyn mocked over MP of the year nomination – ‘Best joke this year!’

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Jeremy Corbyn has been nominated for the “MP of the Year” award, which has triggered a huge backlash on Twitter. The MP for Islington North was shortlisted for the prestigious prize by the public, just over eight months after guiding the Labour Party to its worst general election defeat in almost 100 years.

The decision has caused uproar amongst users on Twitter and they did not hold back on their opinions.

One user wrote: “I’ve just p**sed myself laughing, spilt my drink, I needed a good laugh…thanks.”

A second user said: “He gave the Tories an 80 seat majority, the worst Labour defeat in nearly 100 years.”

A third observer commented: “Have you made a typo – shouldn’t it be ‘Worst MP of the Year’?”

Meanwhile a fourth simply said: “Best joke I’ve heard this year.”

In April, Mr Corbyn was replaced as Labour leader by Sir Keir Starmer, after the party suffered its worst election defeat since 1935.

Mr Corbyn’s dismal showing at the ballot box in December 2019 handed Boris Johnson a huge 80-seat majority in the House of Commons.

Since the exit of Mr Corbyn from the frontbench the Labour Party has experienced a huge resurgence in the polls.

The latest YouGov poll has put the Tories on 40 percent of the vote – with Labour narrowly behind on 38 percent.

The “MP of the Year” award ceremony is run by the Patchwork Foundation – a non-partisan charity based in the UK.

The organisation founded in 2011, say the prize is awarded to politicians who have gone “above and beyond in their role” in the past year.

Other standout nominees include former Prime Minister Theresa May, former Labour leadership candidate Jess Phillips and Chancellor Rishi Sunak.

Education Secretary Gavin Williamson has also made the cut despite overseeing the A-level and GCSE results fiasco in the past week.

The winners will be decided by an independent panel of judges with a second award decided by a public vote in the ‘People’s Choice’ category.


Brexit LIVE: EU plot to force Boris Johnson to ditch fishing rights [LIVE]
Coronavirus symptoms update: Link between loss of smell and COVID-19 [INSIGHT]
Met Office weather warnings UPGRADED: Storm Francis wreaks havoc on UK [FORECAST]

In a post on Twitter Patchwork Foundation said: “The public nominates any MPs they think have gone above and beyond in their role over the past year, especially in championing underrepresented voices.

“This year nominations opened April 22 and closed July 19.”

Voting for the People’s Choice “MP of the Year” award will close at midnight on August 30.

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts