Tuesday, 21 May 2024

What does time-sensitive mean on Snapchat and how to turn it off?

Snapchat has introduced a number of new features that have proved divisive with users.

The introduction of its ChatGPT alternative My AI garnered many complaints – and not least because of some of its creepy responses – but also due to the fact it has been pinned to the top of user’s chat feeds.

Snapchat did warn that just like any AI chatbot, My AI is prone to hallucinations and can be tricked into saying just about anything – to the annoyance of many members since it has been rolled out.

Another change that has left many users scratching their heads is time-sensitive notifications that began appearing yesterday (May 9)

But what do they mean, and can you turn them off? Here’s what you need to know.

What does time-sensitive mean on Snapchat?

Time-sensitive notifications are a feature that gives some notifications higher priority than others on the app so you don’t miss anything important.

The feature is not exclusive to Snapchat and was introduced to iOS in 2021 across various apps.

These notifications display on your phone’s lock screen for one hour, despite restrictions you may have put in place such as ‘do not disturb.’

The app decides which notifications class as time-sensitive, meaning users cannot dictate what is and isn’t ‘important’ to them.

How to turn them off

If you don’t want to receive time-sensitive notifications from Snapchat, it is possible to turn them off.

First, open the settings app of your device and scroll down to ‘Snapchat’.

Then, you need to click on the notifications tab and find the time-sensitive toggle, turning it to ‘off’.

Doing this means you will receive notifications in the order in which they appear and that you allow, meaning they are not prioritised by perceived importance.

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts