Wednesday, 28 Oct 2020

The full list of coronavirus lockdown tier levels by area

The breakdown of areas in England now under the strictest levels of local lockdown restrictions has been confirmed.

More than 74 local authorities in the North and the Midlands will move to tier two areas, where the alert level is ‘high’, meaning people from different households cannot meet indoors.

Liverpool and five surrounding authorities will move into the ‘very high’ alert level which includes pub closures, bans on wedding receptions and the forbidding of any mixing between households indoors or out.

The rest of the country will continue to follow restrictions currently in place such as the 10pm curfew and bans on gatherings of more than six people.

The Merseyside area moving into tier three on Wednesday consists of the city of Liverpool, Knowsley, Wirral, St Helens, Sefton and Halton.

Visit our live blog for the latest updates Coronavirus news live

The regions which are partly or wholly moving into tier two are: Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Derbyshire’s High Peak area, Lancashire, South and West Yorkshire, Durham, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, Tees Valley, West Midlands, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire.

The full list has been published on the government’s website and will be updated continually.

Boris Johnson has said a postcode checker on both the website and the NHS Covid-19 app will be available shortly, and that the alert levels themselves will be reviewed every four weeks.

As well as the ban on indoor mixing between households, whether at home or in public places, people in tier two areas must still follow the rule of six outdoors and will be urged to avoid travelling where possible.

Tier three restrictions automatically mean pubs and bars must close unless they can operate as a restaurant – serving substantial meals and only serving alcohol with those meals – and that wedding receptions are banned.

Additional measures may also be introduced in those areas following consultations between ministers and local authorities.

For example, Liverpool and the rest of Merseyside will force a range of businesses including restaurants, gyms, leisure centres and betting shops to close.

There are no plans to close places of worship or schools in any areas that move into tier three.

Get in touch with our news team by emailing us at [email protected]

For more stories like this, check our news page.

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts