Monday, 27 Mar 2023

Hotel guest furious after having to get ready on corridor floor

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

A woman was furious after having to get ready on the corridor floor at a hotel – because there were no working plugs in her room.

The tourist and her partner shared a photograph of her sat on the floor and straightening her hair at The Scotsman Hotel in central Edinburgh.

After the guest called it the “worst experience” in a scathing TripAdvisor review, the hotel apologised.

The establishment boasts a four-star service, with guests often praising its location, cleanliness, service, and value.

But taking to the review site, the disgruntled guest wrote: “Booked this hotel expecting a great experience, instead we experienced quite the opposite.

“Our first morning was ruined by the internal bedroom sockets not working, call to reception multiple times but no one sent to fix until I physically went up to the desk to get someone.

“Over two hours since the issue reported, not fixed and no alternative given by the staff of how myself and my girlfriend could get ready.

“She ended up having to straighten her hair sat outside the room on the corridor to use a plug socket.

“Totally embarrassing experience for what is supposed to be a four star hotel.”

The Scotsman Hotel rapidly replied, saying they were “terribly sorry,” reports Edinburgh Live.

But the review continued: “We missed breakfast because of the delays in the morning but managed to get out and enjoy our day.

“Once we got back for our second night, we were awoken at 3am by a horrible mechanic noise right next to our room.

“The noise lasted a good 10 minutes and then while I was reporting it to maintenance in the morning, it happened again!

“I reported this to the manager who offered a 20 per cent refund on our stay, only to never actually give us the refund and now ignore our requests.

“Worst service I’ve ever experienced.”

In response, the hotel wrote: “Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

“We are terribly sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

“I have investigated as to why a solution was not provided the first time you alerted us that you had an issue with the sockets in your bedroom and our reception team of course should have provided a solution right away.

“I am sorry to read that you have not received an agreed refund I will personally look into this matter and get this resolved for you, may I request that you reach out to us directly so that I may locate your reservation in our system?”

But as 1,984 people rate it as “excellent” on the review site with one adding: “The Scotsman is a beautiful hotel in a great central location.

“The staff were really friendly, kind really happy to look after you.

“We had an amazing stay and wish we had booked longer. Very highly recommended.”

Another said: “Everything about our stay here at The Scotsman was amazing! The room was stunning, the location was perfect, and the staff was incredibly helpful and kind throughout our entire stay.

“We had a magical time during our visit to Edinburgh, and a big part of it was being able to return to this beautiful hotel at the end of every day.

“We got a free complimentary room upgrade when we arrived and couldn’t believe how beautiful the room was.

“We’ll definitely be returning to this lovely hotel for many years to come.

“Thank you for making our stay in Edinburgh so special!”

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts