Wednesday, 8 Feb 2023

Cold Weather Payment postcodes: Full list of areas eligible for £25 grant

As the UK faces freezing temperatures, some will be wondering if they’re due a Cold Weather Payment.

Essentially, the Cold Weather Payment is a £25 payment made for every seven (consecutive) days the average temperature in your area is recorded or forecast to be 0°C or below, to help with extra costs such as heating.

This applies for the period between November 1, 2022 and March 31, 2023.

Not everyone is entitled to it though, only people who are on specific benefits (and have specific circumstances) are eligible – and, of course, it depends on if your area is consistently cold enough.

Here’s what you need to know about eligibility – including a full list of postcodes due one or more Cold Weather Payments.

Plus how to check your own postcode…

Who is eligible to receive a Cold Weather Payment?

People in England, Wales and Northern Ireland on certain benefits are eligible to receive the payment when their area gets cold enough – though only in specific circumstances, such as disability.

There’s more detail about what those circumstances are on, but you may want to check your eligibility if you receive:

  • Pension Credit
  • Income Support
  • income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance
  • income-related Employment and Support Allowance
  • Universal Credit
  • Support for Mortgage Interest.

How to check if your postcode is due a Cold Weather Payment

In England and Wales, use the postcode checker to see which postcodes are due one or more Cold Weather Payments.

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a webbrowser thatsupports HTML5video

Northern Ireland also has Cold Weather Payments. Check your postcode on the NI Direct website.

Note if you are due to receive one, it should come through automatically, so you don’t need to apply for it.

Scotland doesn’t have Cold Weather Payments, though does note its similar Winter Heating Payment.

Which postcodes are eligible for a Cold Weather Payment? has listed the postcodes due one, two or even three payments on its official website. They are as follows:

Full list of postcodes currently due Cold Weather Payments

Aberporth: SA35-48, SA64-65 – one payment

Albemarle: DH1-7, DH9, DL4-5, DL14-17, NE1-13, NE15-18, NE20-21, NE23, NE 25-46, SR1-7, TS21, TS28-29 – two payments

Almondsbury: BS1-11, BS13-16, BS20-24, BS29-32, BS34-37, BS39-41, BS48-49, GL11-13, NP16, NP26 – one payment

Andrewsfield: CB1-5, CB10-11, CB21-25, CM1-9, CM11-24, CM77, CO9, RM4, SG8-11 – one payment

Bainbridge: BD23-24, DL8, DL11-13 – two payments

Benson: HP5-23, HP27, OX9-10, OX33, OX39, OX44, OX49, RG9, SL7-9 – two payments

Bingley: BB4, BB8-12, BB18, BD1-22, HD3, HD7-9, HX1-7, LS21, LS29, OL13-14, S36 – two payments

Boscombe Down: BA12, RG28, SO20-23, SP1-5, SP7, SP9-11 – one payment

Bramham: HG1-5, LS1-20, LS22-28, YO1, YO8, YO10, YO19, YO23-24, YO26, YO30-32, YO41-43, YO51, YO60-61 – one payment

Brize Norton: OX1-6, OX8, OX10-14, OX18, OX20, OX25-29, OX33, OX44, SN7 – one payment

Capel Curig: LL24-25, LL41 – one payment

Carlisle: CA1-8, DG12, DG16 – two payments

Charlwood: BN5-6, BN44, GU5-6, ME6, ME14-20, RH1-20, TN1-20, TN22, TN27 – one payment

Charterhall: NE71, TD5, TD12, TD15 – one payment

Chivenor: EX23, EX31-34, EX39 – one payment

Coleshill: B1-21, B23-38, B40, B42-50, B60-80, B90-98, CV1-12, CV21-23, CV31-35, CV37, CV47, DY1-14, LE10, WS1-15, WV1-16 – one payment

Crosby: CH41-49, CH60-66, FY1-8, L1-40, PR1-5, PR8-9, PR25-26 – one payment

Dunkeswell Aerodrome: DT6-8, EX13-15,TA21 – one payment

Eskdalemuir: DG14, TD9 – three payments

Exeter Airport: EX1-12, EX24, TQ1-6, TQ9, TQ12, TQ14 – two payments

Fylingdales: YO13, YO18, YO21-22, YO62 – one payment

Hawarden Airport: CH1-8, LL11-14, SY14 – one payment

Heathrow: BR1-4, CR0, CR2-8, E1-18, E20, E1W, EC1A, EC1M, EC1N, EC1R, EC1V,EC1Y, EC2A, EC2M, EC2N, EC2R, EC2V, EC2Y, EC3A, EC3M, EC3N, EC3R, EC3V, EC4A, EC4M, EC4N, EC4R, EC4V, EC4Y, EN1-5, EN7-11, HA0-9, IG1-11, KT1-24, N1-22, N1C, NW1-11, SE1-28, SL0, SL3, SM1-7, SW2-20, SW1A, SW1E, SW1H, SW1P, SW1V, SW1W, SW1X, SW1Y TW1-20, UB1-11, W2-14, W1B-D, W1F-H, W1J-K, W1S-U, W1W, WC1A-B, WC1E, WC1H, WC1N, WC1R, WC1V, WC1X, WC2A-B, WC2E, WC2H, WC2N, WC2R – one payment

Hereford-Credenhill: GL1-6, GL10, GL14-20, GL50-53, HR1-9, NP7-8, NP15, NP25, SY8, WR1-11, WR13-15 – one payment

Herstmonceux West End: BN7-8, BN20-24, BN26-27, TN21, TN31-40 – one payment

Hurn: BH1-25, BH31, DT1-2, DT11, SP6 – one payment

Keele: CW1-3, CW5, CW12, ST1-8, ST11-12, ST14-21 – one payment

Lake Vyrnwy: LL20-21, LL23, SY10, SY15-17, SY19, SY21-22 – one payment

Leconfield: DN14, HU1-20, YO11-12, YO14-17, YO25 – one payment

Leek: DE4, DE45, S32-33, SK13, SK17, SK22-23, ST9-10, ST13 – one payment

Leeming: DL1-3, DL6-7, DL9-10, TS9, TS15-16, YO7 – one payment

Libanus: CF37-48, CF81-83, LD3, NP4, NP11-13, NP22-24, NP44, SA9 – two payments

Liscombe: EX16, EX35-36, TA22, TA24 – one payment

Little Rissington: CV36, GL54-56, OX7, OX15-17, WR12 – two payments

Llysdinam: LD1-8, SA19-20, SY7, SY9, SY18 – two payments

Loftus: SR8, TS1-8, TS10-14, TS17-20, TS22-27 – one payment

Marham: CB6-7, IP24-28, PE12-14, PE30-38 – one payment

Mona: LL33-34, LL42-49, LL51-78 – one payment

Morpeth, Cockle Park: NE22, NE24, NE61-70 – one payment

North Wyke: EX17-22, EX37-38, PL19-21, TQ10-11, TQ13 – one payment

Nottingham Watnall: CV13, DE1, DE3, DE5-7, DE11-15, DE21-24, DE55-56, DE65, DE72-75, LE1-9, LE11-14, LE16-19, LE65, LE67, NG1-22, NG25, NG31-34 – one payment

Odiham: GU1-4, GU7-12, GU14-35, GU46-47, GU51-52, RG1-2, RG4-8, RG10, RG12, RG14, RG18-27, RG29-31, RG40-42, RG45, SL1-2, SL4-6, SO24 – one payment

Pembrey Sands: SA1-8, SA14-18, SA31-34, SA61-63, SA66-73 – one payment

Redesdale: CA9, DH8, NE19, NE47-49. – two payments

Rhyl: LL15-19, LL22, LL26-32 – one payment

Rochdale: BL0-9, M24, M26, OL1-12, OL15-16, SK15 – two payments

Rostherne: CW4, CW6-11, M1-9, M11-23, M25, M27-35, M38, M40-41, M43-46, M50, M90, PR7, SK1-12, SK14, SK16, WA1-16, WN1-8 – two payments

Rothamsted: AL1-10, EN6, HP1-4, LU1-7, SG1-4, SG12-14, WD3-7, WD17-19, WD23-25 – one payment

Shap: CA10-12, CA16-17, LA8-10, LA21-23 – two payments

Shawbury: SY1-6, SY11-13, TF1-13 – one payment

Sheffield: DN1–8, DN11-12,HD1-2, HD4-6, S1-14, S17-18, S20-21, S25-26, S35, S40-45, S60-66, S70-75, S80-81, WF1-17 – one payment

Shoeburyness: BR5-8, CM0, CT5-6, DA1-18, ME1-5, ME7-13, RM1-3, RM5-20, SS0-9, SS11-17 – one payment

St. Bees Head: CA13-15, CA18-28 – one payment

Stonyhurst: BB1-3, BB5-7, LA2, LA6-7, PR6 – one payment

Stowe: NN1-7 NN11-13, MK18 – two payments

Thorney Island: BN1-3, BN9-18, BN25, BN41-43, BN45, PO1-22, PO30-41, SO14-19, SO30-32, SO40-43, SO45, SO50-53 – one payment

Tibenham: NR1-35 – one payment

Trawsgoed: LL35-40, SY20, SY23-25 – two payments

Waddington: DN9-10, DN13, DN15-22, DN31-41, LN1-13, NG23-24, PE10-11, PE20-25 – one payment

Walney Island: LA1, LA3-5, LA11-20 – one payment

Wattisham: CB8-9, CO1-8, CO10-16, IP1-23, IP29-33 one payment

Westonbirt: BA1-3, BA11, BA13-15, GL7-9, RG17, SN1-6, SN8-16, SN25-26 – one payment

Wittering: LE15, NN14-18, PE1-9, PE15-17, PE26-29 – one payment

Woburn: MK1-17, MK19, MK40-46, NN8-10, NN29, PE19, SG5-7, SG15-19 – two payments

Yeovilton: BA4-10, BA16, BA20-22, BS25-28, DT9-10, SP8, TA1-20, TA23 – two payments.

While more payments could end up being due by the cut off date of March 31, this list shows how many £25 Cold Weather Payments are due as of January 13 (based on government data).

For the most up to date number, you can always use the postcode checkers mentioned above.

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts