Thursday, 9 Jul 2020

Tory leadership challenge: The two candidates most likely to be your new Prime Minister

The race to succeed Prime Minister Theresa May officially began this week, as she stepped down as leader of the Conservative Party on Friday. Candidates will face the first round of MP votes on Thursday, as candidates are whittled down to two. The final ballot will then go to the wider party, who will vote on their preferred leader before the end of July.

While the race is still in its early days, a look at the latest odds shows what the public mood is about the race as it currently stands.

According to Ladbrokes bookmakers, it’s a “two-horse race” between Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt.

Boris Johnson is leading as the favourite with 4/7, while Jeremy Hunt has seen his odds slashed to 9/2.

Every other candidate in the betting is currently on 10/1 odds or bigger, the bookies said.

Where do they stand on Brexit?

Both Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt have said they will take the UK out of the EU on October 31 without a deal, although it’s not the preferred option for either.

Foreign Secretary Mr Hunt said a “very smart” approach was needed to break the Brexit impasse, saying an “experienced, serious leader” was needed, not “empty rhetoric”.

Two well-respected Cabinet ministers, Andrea Leadsom and Penny Mordant, have thrown their weight behind Mr Hunt.

Mr Johnson is yet to broadcast any speech or launch for his leadership campaign, but has said the “way to get a good deal is to prepare for no deal”.

He has caused controversy by announcing plans for a tax cut for higher earners on Monday.

Both men, along with the other eight in the running, will head to the first ballot on Thursday.

If they make it though, we’ll have the first opportunity to see them debate live on Channel 4 at 6.30pm on Sunday evening.

Who else is in the running?

The full list of candidates is as follows:

1. Boris Johnson

2. Jeremy Hunt

3. Michael Gove

4. Matt Hancock

5. Mark Harper

6. Sajid Javid

7. Andrew Leadsom

8. Esther McVey

9. Dominic Raab

10. Rory Stewart

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts