Sunday, 7 Mar 2021

Which areas are in Tier Two lockdown and what are the new Covid restrictions?

BORIS Johnson announced a new three tier lockdown system on October 12 in a bid to curb the spread of coronavirus.

The Prime Minister set out his three-tier strategy, with areas in England categorised into medium, high or very high risk. These tiers will inform the “appropriate interventions” needed in each area.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates


What areas are under a Tier Two lockdown?

In a speech on Monday, October 12, Boris Johnson unveiled the three tier system levels of medium, high and very high.

The PM said Tier Two or high level were areas already under special measures.

He said: "Most areas currently under local intervention will be at High, and Nottinghamshire, including Nottingham itself, East and West Cheshire and a small area of High Peak will also move to this level."

These are the areas currently under Tier Two lockdown as of October 13, 2020.


  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cheshire East

Greater Manchester

  • Manchester
  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan
  • Salford
  • Rochdale
  • Oldham


  • Warrington


  • High Peak – the wards of Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John's, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North


  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Preston
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Burnley

West Yorkshire

  • Leeds
  • Bradford
  • Kirklees
  • Calderdale
  • Wakefield

South Yorkshire

  • Barnsley
  • Rotherham
  • Doncaster
  • Sheffield

North East

  • Newcastle
  • South Tyneside
  • North Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Sunderland
  • Durham
  • Northumberland

Tees Valley

  • Middlesbrough
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Darlington
  • Hartlepool

West Midlands

  • Birmingham
  • Sandwell
  • Solihull
  • Wolverhampton
  • Walsall


  • Leicester
  • Oadby and Wigston


  • Nottinghamshire
  • Nottingham City

What is a Tier Two lockdown?

Areas in Tier Two – where there is a high risk of coronavirus – are banned from mixing with other households indoors, including in pubs and restaurants.

When outside, only two households will be able to mix.

The PM said this "primarily aims to reduce household transmission by banning mixing indoors".

Social distancing measures, the "rule of six" outdoors and the 10pm curfew will continue in this tier.

Most areas which are currently subject to local restrictions will automatically move into it.


What are the Tier two restrictions?

  • You cannot have people you do not live with over to your house
  • You cannot visit anyone else’s house
  • You cannot socialise with anyone outside your household in pubs, restaurants or any other indoor setting
  • You can still meet up to six people in a private garden or public outdoor setting, such as a park
  • Businesses will not be legally mandated to close
  • Social distancing and the 10pm curfew will be maintained

When will the Tier Two lockdown restrictions come into force?

Some areas are already working under the Tier Two guidelines.

For other areas the measures are expected to come into effect on, Wednesday, October 14.

How long will Tier Two lockdown restrictions last?

Restrictions will be reviewed regularly, and will be eased depending on the data.

The measures will be reviewed every month, however, this doesn't necessarily mean they will be in place for a specific amount of time.

At the end of September it was insinuated some of the restrictions could be in place for six months.

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts