Thursday, 24 Sep 2020

Royal titles: Which members of the Royal Family have HRH titles?

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Meghan Markle and Prince Harry recently stepped down from their senior royal roles, and although they are keeping their HRH titles, they will no longer be using them in any official capacity. Buckingham Palace said in a statement earlier this year: “The Sussexes will not use their HRH titles as they are no longer working members of the Royal Family.” explains the meaning of the HRH title, and which members of the Royal Family hold the prestigious style.

What does HRH mean?

HRH is an abbreviation of His Royal Highness or Her Royal Highness.

Many members of the Royal Family hold royal titles such as Duke or Duchess, but a select number of royals also hold the additional title of HRH.

The titles of HRH are usually reserved for members of the Royal Family who are born Princesses or Princes, and those who carry out royal engagements as full-time working royals.


  • The hilarious reason Zara Tindall changed her daughter’s name

Who holds HRH titles in the Royal Family?

Queen Elizabeth II is the only member of the Royal Family to hold the title of Her Majesty.

The Queen’s children all hold the title of HRH, as does the Queen’s husband Prince Philip.

Prince Charles, Princess Anne, Prince Andrew and Prince Edward hold HRH titles, but not all of their children do.

Prince Charles’ sons, Prince William and Prince Harry, both have HRH titles, although Harry will no longer be using his as he no longer completes royal engagements on behalf of the Crown.

Prince Harry’s wife Meghan Markle also received an HRH title when she married Harry in 2018, although Meghan will also no longer be using the title going forward.

The Queen’s only daughter Princess Anne refused royal titles for her two children, Peter Phillips and Zara Tindall, so they do not hold any official titles or HRH status.

Prince Andrew’s two daughters Beatrice and Eugenie also have HRH titles as they were born as Princesses.

The Queen’s youngest son Prince Edward has two children: Lady Louise Windsor and James, Viscount Severn, and they also have HRH titles.


One big way Kate and William’s titles to change when Charles king – ANALYSIS
Royal heartbreak THIS rule means Prince Louis won’t inherit ANY titles – INSIGHT
Sophie Wessex children: Reason for Louise and James’s lack of titles – EXPLAINER


  • Prince William was outworked by ONE royal following Meghan’s departure

However Edward’s wife Sophie, Countess of Wessex recently explained why her children do not use their HRH titles, and likely never will.

Sophie told The Sunday Times Magazine: “We try to bring them up with the understanding they are very likely to have to work for a living.

“Hence we made the decision not to use HRH titles.

“They have them and can decide to use them from 18, but I think it’s highly unlikely.”

Prince William and his wife Kate, Duchess of Cambridge are both HRH, as are their three children: Prince George, 6, Princess Charlotte, 5, and Prince Louis, 2.

Unlike some of their royal cousins, the Cambridge children hold Prince and Princess titles as well as HRH status, as they are the children of a direct heir to the throne.

Meghan Markle and Prince Harry’s son does not have any royal titles, nor do the children of Zara Tindall or Peter Phillips.

The Royal Family significantly reduced the number of HRH titles it awarded its members during the early 20th Century.

But the Queen has issued more HRH titles during her reign, hence why some more fringe members of the Royal Family also hold HRH titles.

For example, the Queen’s cousin, Prince Michael of Kent, is 48th in line to the throne, but he holds an HRH title.

Source: Read Full Article

Related Posts